Back to overview

Award of Frankfurt Music Prize: Quatuor Ébène

Presentation of the Frankfurt Music Prize – Paulskirche This year the Frankfurt Music Prize goes to the Quatuor Ébène String Quartet. Since 1982 this prize has been awarded to artistes in recognition of their particular contributions to music.

Quatuor Ébène

Former prize-winners include Udo Lindenberg, Peter Gabriel, Keith Emerson and Marie-Luise Neunecker. The trustees praise Quatuor Ébène as an outstanding ensemble, which has enthralled its listeners through its electrifying playing, its faithfulness to the original, and its enjoyment of improvisation. In the way they lean towards jazz – a tendency preserving a perfectly natural effect – these musicians have succeeded, they say, in strengthening the string quartet as the premiere category of chamber music as the public perceives it. The members of Quatuor Ébène – they are Marie Chilemme, Pierre Colombet, Gabriel Le Magadure and Raphael Merlin – are also engaged in encouraging newcomers and pass their skills on to the coming musical generation in masterclasses.

Venue: Frankfurter Paulskirche
7 p.m.

Messe Frankfurt uses cookies to provide you the best possible browsing experience. By using our services, you consent to our use of cookies. More information